Home » How To Delete Your Twitter Account (And Keep Your Tweets)
Business

How To Delete Your Twitter Account (And Keep Your Tweets)

We in this article, we will tell you how to delete your Twitter account, and how to back up your tweets.

The idea of ​​leaving Twitter may not have become as popular as the #DeleteFacebook movement, but even so, many intend to abandon this service forever. In addition to many other reasons, Twitter has been accused of acting nonchalantly towards accounts that spread fake news and advertising, as well as failing to avoid cryptocurrency scams

If you plan to leave a service simply by leaving your account, someone could hack it and take control of it, could start spreading scams and fake news on your behalf, or write nasty messages to your friends. Therefore, to abandon a service, it is best to delete your account completely.

In this article, we are going to explain how to get rid of Twitter, but before that, we are going to talk about backups, do you want to keep your memories despite leaving the service? Twitter allows you to do it, at least in part, since, unfortunately, there is no option to save the tweets that you liked from other users or the list of accounts you follow or any other list that you have created; You can only keep your own tweets or retweets.

How To Back Up Your Tweets On Twitter

For some reason, you cannot use the application, you can only request a copy of tweets from the web version of this social network. And these are the steps you should follow:

  • Go to twitter.com and log in.
  • Click on your profile picture in the upper right corner and select Settings & privacy.
  • From the menu on the left, select Account (open by default), scroll down and in Your Tweets file click on Request your file.

So Twitter generates a ZIP file with all your tweets (including tweets that you have retweeted from other users) and sends it to the email address you have linked to. This may take a few minutes, maybe longer.

When you receive the email and download the attached file, you will see a file called index.html. If you click, you will open an offline web page with a list of all your tweets ordered by month. The page also includes a graph of your Twitter activity. The columns of the graph will allow you to select a specific month and see all the tweets from that period.

Also Read: 5 Common Mistakes On Twitter And How To Avoid Them

How To Permanently Delete Your Twitter Account

Twitter does not allow you to officially delete your account, but you can deactivate it. Twitter will not erase your data from its servers and will continue to use it for any purpose stated in the user agreement. That is, nobody outside the company will be able to see your account on twitter.com (not even you).

You can deactivate your Twitter account from the web or from the Twitter application for Android or iPhone / iPad. At least for this case, you can use the application.

Deactivate A Twitter Account With The Android or iOS Application

  • In the upper left corner of the Twitter app, click on your profile picture
  • From the menu, select Settings and privacy
  • Access Account
  • Scroll down to the end and tap Deactivate your account
  • After the text, tap Deactivate
  • Enter your password and select Deactivate
  • Press Yes, disable. And that’s it (yes, Twitter takes many precautions to prevent you from accidentally deleting your account)

Deactivate A Twitter Account From The Web Version

  • Go to twitter.com and log in
  • In the upper right corner, click on your profile picture and select Settings & privacy
  • In the menu on the left, go to Account, go to the bottom and select Deactivate your account
  • Twitter shows you a warning after which the Deactivate button appears
  • Enter your password in the window that appears and click Deactivate Account

After all this, your account will be deactivated and will, therefore, be inaccessible through twitter.com or mobile applications unless you activate it again. It should be noted that Twitter explicitly declares that certain data from your profile and tweets may be available through search engines; If Google or similar have indexed some of your tweets, you will not be able to do anything about it.

How To Restore Your Twitter Account

Once your account is deactivated and for the next 30 days, you can reactivate it by visiting twitter.com or a mobile application and logging in with your username and password. After these 30 days, your account is permanently deleted and nobody, not even you, will be able to recover it.

Also Read: How To Delete Your Snapchat Account And Keep Your Data